What InternationalCupid tells you before you register
More than we expected, and less than you need. Its Terms of Use run to tens of thousands of words and are public - no account, no paywall. What they will not tell you is the number: "Subscription plans and their corresponding fees are located at the 'Upgrade Membership' page", and that page is behind registration.
So the shape of the deal is fully disclosed and the size of it is not. That is an unusual combination on this page - most platforms here publish neither.
What the free account does
The terms say you "may become a member of the Service free of charge" and that free membership "will only entitle you to participate in some of the features". Which features is not stated. That vagueness is the weak point: you can read the contract in full and still not know what you get for nothing.
How it bills you
Subscription, auto-renewing, with recurring billing authorised at checkout - all of it written down in the public terms. There are also free trials, which the terms say must be used within the trial window.
The terms also name the tiers - Gold, Platinum and Diamond - and a second currency on top: Coins, used for extras like virtual gifts, costing "from 10 to 4990 Coins" a gift and expiring 365 days after purchase. Two of the three tiers include some Coins. What none of it says is what a tier or a Coin pack costs.
"Your membership or Paid services will be automatically renewed. You can opt out of auto-renewal at any time. If you have not opted out, then, the subscription and purchase will be auto-renewed for the periods stated. You can cancel auto-renewal by following the instructions in the Help section of the website."
That last clause is the catch. The renewal rule is public; the instructions for stopping it are in the Help section, which needs an account. You can learn that you will be charged again without being able to read how to prevent it.
What each membership costs
Here is every way InternationalCupid can charge you, lined up against what its public documents actually disclose about the price. The mechanism is on the record in the Terms of Use; the amount, in every case, is not.
| Option | What the public terms state | Published price |
|---|---|---|
| Free membership | Entitles you to "some of the features"; which ones is not stated | Free |
| Subscription (Gold / Platinum / Diamond) | Auto-renewing, with recurring billing authorised at checkout; two of the three tiers include some Coins | Not published - lives on the members-only Upgrade Membership page |
| Coins (add-on currency) | Buys extras such as virtual gifts, "from 10 to 4990 Coins" a gift; Coins expire 365 days after purchase | Coin-pack prices not published |
| Free trial | Must be used within the trial window | Not published |
Why there are no user quotes here
We quote verbatim App Store reviews because Apple publishes them with a name, a rating and a date. InternationalCupid has no US App Store listing we could find, so there is no attributable review corpus to draw on, and we are not going to substitute quotes we cannot source.
Where it lands
Sixth, and it gets there on an unusual split: the criterion this site weights most heavily is whether you can see a price before you register, and here you cannot. Almost everything else about the deal is documented better than its position suggests.
If you are considering it, read the Terms of Use first - they are public and they are specific. Then accept that you will only find out the price by creating an account, and decide whether that trade is acceptable before you start.
Because the amount stays hidden until you register, the questions readers keep asking about billing, trials and cancellation live in our FAQ, pulled straight from the public terms.
If InternationalCupid publishes a price or changes any of these terms, tell us directly - a correction like that moves faster than our scheduled recheck.